top of page
DRG_Magmacaves_2160p.jpg
  • Writer's pictureScuzz

ENGINEER: Inferno OC | Haz 5 Mining


This is a Solo Haz 5 demonstration of the INFERNO Overclock for the Engineer's Breach Cutter. This is another OC that I trash all the time, so it was time to actually put it to the ultimate test and make it work. INFERNO has a bad reputation in the DRG community as an awful overclock, or as I responded to someone in the DRG subReddit the other day asking if it seemed "underwhelming" to anyone else: "It's not underwhelming. It flat out sucks."


So again, rather than being challenged by others, I took that as a challenge to myself to force it into viability in a Haz 5 situation. Inferno adds the element of fire to your Plasma

Beam at the cost of much less direct damage, much less ammo, and much lower armor break. Sound like an unfair trade off? It is. It's still not great, but it is definitely viable. As you can see in the video, it's not consistent with igniting enemies on fire, but it's obviously doing heat damage. However, it's almost 100% on larger enemies as far as ignition and it does a good job on them. I'm still torn as whether or not that's better than armor break on praetorians and the like, but it's workable. I'm not a fan of the ammo hit, taking it down to 12 with 3 in the magazine to start. I would feel a lot more cuddly with this overclock if they pushed this up to a 14 or 15 reserve ammo and double the pathetic armor breaking from 25 to at least 50%.


On the bright side, it's not completely without it's fun. It does still basically do the job of a breach cutter and even when it's not igniting, it appears to be doing decent heat damage, so the Beam Damage reduction of over 100 from most standard builds is not really felt all that much. Honestly, I would feel OK taking this in to team play in Haz 5 situations. However in this solo run, I did find myself holding back and relying a lot more on my turrets and prox-mines to do damage than I normally would when I have more confidence in my Breach. Not sure I'd want to work with it in extended missions like Elite Deep Dives, but I may come back to it and continue to work with it. Hopefully it will get a bit more of a rework in the upcoming update where more balancing has been promised.



Mining Expedition: "Pure Memorial"

Biome: Crystalline Caverns

Cave Complexity: 1

Mission Length: 1

Secondary: Apoca Blooms

No Warnings/No Anomalies

Beer Buff: None

Video: Max Settings/21:9/1440P


ENGINEER:

"STUBBY" VOLTAIC SMG

MODS: 2-2-2-2-1

OC: EM Refire Booster

Currently my Go-To Stubby Build


BREACH CUTTER:

MODS: 1-1-1-2-3

OC: INFERNO


THROWABLE: Proximity Mines


Other Mods for this run (all personal preference)

Pick Axe: 1-1 | LMG Gun Platform: 1-2-1-1 | Platform Gun: 2-1-2 | Armor: 1-2-1-2


PERKS FOR THIS SOLO RUN:

Passive: Thorns, Born Ready, Veteran Depositer

Active: Dash, Beastmaster


BOSCO MODS: 1-1-1-2-3

Bosco Mods are purely personal choice, but as painfully slow as Bosco digs, I highly recommend giving up his digging skills on tier one in favor of direct damage. Also his electro rounds are great at slowing advancing enemies. Bosco is great. Use him how you wish, just learn to take advantage of the skills you equip him with.

Comments


bottom of page