top of page
DRG_Magmacaves_2160p.jpg
  • Writer's pictureScuzz

DRILLER: Fuel Stream Diffuser & Tranq Rounds


[TIME CODES IN DESCRIPTION] This run is a demonstration of the FUEL STREAM DIFFUSER Overclock for the Driller's Flamethrower as well as the TRANQUILIZER ROUNDS overclock for the Subata 120, but it may be more ofa demonstration of what a navigation hell the Hollow Bough Biome is. From a standpoint of visuals, Hollow is my favorite biome to play in. From a standpoing of navigation, the my least favorite. I enjoy the challenge of it though. As far a cavern generation, this is probably one of the most forgiving layout you can get, but still a driller's nightmare. Also, once again I did not go for secondaries in the interests of a shorter video and my sanity.

FUEL STREAM DIFFUSER is nice Blanced Overclock that gives you an extra 5 meters of operation range on your flames in exchange for a slower rate of fire (called "flow rate" on flamethrower). In this build, I didn't notice the slower flow rate much at all, though, so it felt almost clean in that respect. I haven't used this OC a lot, but the extended range is defintely extremely handy since it not only allows you to start damaging things at longer distances (like the Spitball Infecter that was in the pod landing area) but it also gives you breathing room with swarms, especially in this balanced build with extended sticky flames I used in this vid. I like it. Good damage, effective overclock. Could easily become any good players "go to" OC for this weapon at any hazard level.


TRANQUILIZER ROUNDS for the Subata - Once again an overclock I have not used much before this, but it definitely does what it advertises. It gives you a 50% chance of stunning an enemy for 6 seconds at the expense of a Rate of Fire and Magazine size. The slower rate of fire will hurt a bit, smaller magazine is not much of a factor. I think over time I could work more heavily in to this OC, but as it stands it's kind of a quirky thing. I used it to tranq and tame glyphids - a nice use of this for times in higher haz games where it's hard to approach and tame high damage enemies like a slasher without taking damage first (one instance of this noted in the time codes below). However, where I wanted to go with this OC within the theme of the entire buid is stun enemies for extended periods and then spread fire on and under them with my extended sticky flames on the extended range. It works. I'm a little clumsy with that strategy here, but it's a nice touch. I'm just not sure that Tranq Rounds would make it into my regular rotation of using in the weekly Elite Deep Dives, not because I don't think the OC is good, but just because I'm not sure that it fits into my current playstyle. However, this is all about expanding our horizons and not just trying different things, but becoming better at them.


NEUROTOXIN: If you've skimmed through any of my other Driller solo or team videos, you know you've never seen me take any other grenades (or axes) with this class. I'm pretty stuck on these and once again in this run they continually to be that convenient and effective bucket of water on an encroaching fire. Paired here with Tranq rounds and Sticky flames they again prove that they can take a fast approaching shit show and quickly make it manageable as it slows, cripples and kills the unlucky groups of bugs that end up on the short end.


EGG HUNT: "Hard Crib"

Biome: Hollow Bough

Cave Complexity: 2 | Mission Length: 2

Secondary: Fossils (Not Attempted)

No Warnings/No Anomalies

Beer Buff: None

Video: Max Settings/21:9/1440P


01:20 Pod Land

05:35 Mini Swarm

06:10 A Driller's Guide to Stabber Vines

07:55 Mini Swarm

09:14 1st Egg Pull - Mini Swarm

10:02 2nd Egg Pull - Full Swarm

11:00 Tranq and Tame a Slasher in a swarm!

12:55 3rd Egg Pull - Full Swarm

18:20 4th Egg Pull - Minimal Resistance

19:40 Mini Swarm and f*%# Menaces!

21:18 5th Egg Pull - Mini Swarm

22:16 Neurotoxin Makes Everything Better

24:05 6th Egg pulled by Exploders

26:03 Pod Call and Escape

26:35 Sh*tty Drop Pod Landing


DRILLER CLASS:

CRSPR FLAMETHROWER

MODS: 2-1-3-2-1

OC: FUEL STREAM DIFFUSER


SUBATA 120

MODS: 1-1-2-1-1

OC: TRANQUILIZER ROUNDS


SATCHEL CHARGE

Mods: 2-1-1-3


REINFORCED POWER DRILLS

Mods: 2-2-1-1


PICK AXE: 1-1 | ARMOR: 1-2-1-2

THROWABLE: NEUROTIXIN GRENADES


PERKS:

Passive: Thorns, Resupplier, Born Ready

Active: Dash, Beastmaster


BOSCO MODS: 1-1-1-1-3


Comments


bottom of page