top of page
DRG_Magmacaves_2160p.jpg
  • Writer's pictureScuzz

Thoughts on Deep Rock Galactic in 2021

Updated: Mar 14, 2021


Having set up this blog to organize the Deep Rock game play vids I post to You Tube each week, I wanted to clarify why this site exists.

First, I love the game. I'm a Gen-Xer on on the older side of that category and have been gaming online for over 20 years. Only one or two games have caught my interest and loyalty like Deep Rock Galactic. And no game that's been released in well over a decade has come close to doing what this little indie game that's exploded in popularity has. It's my favorite use of free time right now, especially through the great pandemic of 2020 stretching into 2021.


In addition, I love the community. It's by far the least toxic of any gaming community I've ever been a part of. We take the game seriously because we love it, but we don't take the game THAT seriously. It's a game about dwarves that dance and drink beer between missions after all and from the second you boot the game the mood is always light and happy on screen, and that transfers to the players in a big way. Over the years I've had enough of online flame wars, yelling and screaming during random online play and contentious "Us vs Them" relationships between a game's developers and their community of players. None of that exists here to any noticeable quantity. We're here because we want to be.


So apart from all that and the game being simply one of the best co-op experiences to be had of the current -- possibly any -- generation I wanted to to contribute to the community. I'm by no means all that good of a player, but I think I've reached better than average status. Definitely not as good as a lot of other players posting content, so what I have to offer is tons of gameplay videos recorded in high quality in ultrawide format played mostly with random teams or solo. For games with randoms, I only record and post games I host. They are not by invitation, they are almost always just whoever happens to drop in. This gives you a good look at how gameplay unfolds in unpredictable ways with players of all levels. In addition, when I happen to think I have to something to offer through solo play videos that might help, I post that, too. How I got as far as I did is in large part to watching solo play videos of others much better than me to see their strategies and techniques in tackling the crazy stuff that Deep Rock Galactic throws at you.

Overall, here I am. Take it or leave it. I don't expect people to sit through long Elite Deep Dive videos and solo missions unless they feel they want to. But feel free to poke around, scrub through the videos and find the interesting bits. Each week I will post the Elite and Regular Deep dives with random teams as well as the "Rando Mission of the Week" which will just be a standard Haz 5 mission with randoms. In between, I'll occasionally post solo and other content. I play all or any class in any mission and generally evenly split my time between them all.


When you're running through the Deep Rock server browser, you'll find me at "COFFEE AND DEEP ROCK" If it's a Deep Dive, Elite Dive there's a pretty good chance I'm recording. Or on various Haz 5 missions I tend to record to get the "Rando Mission of the Week."

I'm "Scuzz" on the Steam version of the game and "Scuzzbuster" on the Microsoft/XBOX version of the game.


Rock and Stone, everyone!


Comentários


bottom of page